Help Center
< All Topics

Skin Conductance Response (SCR)

The Skin Conductance contains two components: the tonic, static „level“ and the phasic, fluctuating „reactions“, and these components are usually designated as Skin Conductance Responses (SCR).

While the “level” is represented well in the average of the measured values, the eSense Skin Response also measures the amount of Skin Conductance Response (SCR) per minute. In general, a higher number of SCR per minute is an indicator for higher stress. Value from experience which is in alignment with scientific literature[1] suggests that a “relaxed” frame is between 0 and 5 SRC per minute. From 6-9 SRC/min starts an animated state. From 10 or even from 16 SRC/min, a level of stress or even high stress can be assumed.


[1] Boucsein, W. B. (2011). Electrodermal Activity (2. Aufl.). Berlin, Deutschland: Springer.

The SCR are great for comparing biofeedback-sessions to each other. If your goal for training is a reduction of stress, then the amount of SRC/min should decrease over several sessions. In the archive of the app, you can compare the different sessions to each other.

The average value in µS of a session is an indicator for the “level,” hence how high your basis level of tension or relaxion is. You should also try to lower this while you are doing stress reduction training. The average value also takes the SCR into consideration and is falsified with many SRC/min. You should, therefore, use as quiet a frame as possible without any SCR to determine your own “stress level” in µS.

We have colored the SRC/min in the eSense app. Low SRC are green or yellow and high SRC/min are orange or red. While making a measurement, the recognized SRC are colored within the curve. Two examples from our app:

Example of a measurement in a relaxed state with little SRC/min (green and yellow)
Example of a measurement in a stressed state with more SRC/min
(yellow and orange)

In the right diagram, there is also the time in which the values rise, fall or have been steady. With rising stress, the curve rises more often and longer than it keeps steady or falls. This is also an ideal parameter to analyze and to compare biofeedback sessions.

The whole process of detecting and calculating the SCR is a cycle of four steps:

  1. Listening state
  2. Determining if the signal raise is really a SCR
  3. Gathering and calculating SCR and listening asynchronously for SCR recovery phase
  4. Initiate recovery phase and end of fluctuation
Listening stateDetermining if the signal raise is really a SCR
Initiate recovery phase and end of fluctuationGathering and calculating SCR and listening asynchronously for SCR recovery phase

The 4 Steps in detail


1. Listening state

The cycle starts in the first step, the listening state. This is the standard default state.

2. Determining signal raise

There are two ways for detecting the start of an SCR start. The values could either raise slowly with a small step or very fast with a big amplitude. This creates the following to conditions:

  1. The signal is constantly rising for 2 seconds 
  2. The difference between the current signal and the pretended base value (the value that is considered to be the first value in the rising signal. But on this stage, it is not confirmed yet as a base value) is greater than 0.5 micro siemens.
    In simple words the app will react to a sudden signal raise and confirm it as the fluctuation start and will not wait for 2 seconds (as in the first condition above)

If the signal will fall just even 0.1 micro siemens during a raise, the app will drop out of this second step and return to the first step (the listening state) again. Otherwise it will continue with the next two steps 3 and 4.

3. Gathering and calculating SCR (fluctuation)

If one of the two conditions from the second step above are met, the app enters this third step, the fluctuation. The first signal of the fluctuation period is the base value of a fluctuation signal. During the whole fluctuation period, the app is detecting the amplitude which is constantly changing. Then the app starts to calculate the SCR events globally and within a one-minute time window. This results in the SCR/min value.

4. Initiate recovery phase

The fluctuation is considered to enter the recovery phase (the end of fluctuation) when the signal falls for more than 50% of the greatest amplitude of the fluctuation period. 

This is also the step where the color in the graph is changed (based on the quantity of SCR events that were occurring). The colors for the SCR background are also calculated (by dividing time intervals into equal segments and getting the sum of the SCR events from each segment).



Back Skin response and biofeedback training
Questions

Leave a Question

Your email address will not be published.

Help Center
< All Topics

Skin Conductance Response (SCR)

Der Hautleitwert besteht im Wesentlichen aus zwei Komponenten, einem tonischen, statischen „Level“ und den phasischen, fluktuierenden „Reaktionen“, ĂŒblicherweise als „Skin Conductance Responses“ (SCR) bezeichnet.

WĂ€hrend sich das „Level“ gut im Mittelwert der Messwerte widerspiegelt, misst der eSense Skin Response auch die Anzahl ihrer Skin Conductance Responses (SCR) pro Minute. Prinzipiell deutet eine höhere Zahl von SCR pro Minute auf mehr Stress hin. Erfahrungswerte, die sich mit der Fachliteratur[1] decken, ergeben, dass ein „entspannter“ Bereich zwischen 0 und 5 SCR pro Minute liegt. Bei 6-9 SCR/min beginnt ein angeregterer Zustand. Ab 10 und gar ĂŒber 16 SCR pro Minute kann man von hohem, beziehungsweiße sogar sehr hohem Stress ausgehen.


[1] Boucsein, W. B. (2011). Electrodermal Activity (2. Aufl.). Berlin, Deutschland: Springer.

Die SCR eignen sich hervorragend, um Biofeedback-Sitzungen untereinander zu vergleichen. Wenn Ihr Trainingsziel eine Stressreduktion ist, sollten Sie die Anzahl an SCR/min ĂŒber mehrere Sitzungen verringern. Im Archiv der App können Sie Ihre Sitzungen untereinander vergleichen.

Der Mittelwert in ”S einer Sitzung ist ein Indikator fĂŒr das „Level“, also wie hoch Ihr Grundniveau an Anspannung oder Entspannung ist. Auch dieses sollten Sie im Verlauf eines Stressreduktions-Trainings versuchen zu verringern. Hierbei ist jedoch zu beachten, dass der Mittelwert auch die SCR einschließt und damit bei vielen SCR/min verfĂ€lscht wird. Sie sollten also eine möglichst ruhige Phase mit kleinen SCR-Wert nutzen um Ihr eigenes „Stresslevel“ in ”S zu bestimmen.

Wir haben die SCR/min in der eSense App farblich gegenzeichnet. Wenige SCR/min sind grĂŒn bzw. gelb und hohe SCR/min sind orange oder rot. WĂ€hrend einer Messung werden die erkannten SCR/min in der Kurve direkt passend eingefĂ€rbt. Zwei Beispiele direkt aus unserer App sehen Sie hier:

Beispiel einer Messung im entspannten Zustand mit wenig SCR/min (grĂŒn und gelb)
Beispiel einer Messung im gestressten Zustand mit mehr SCR/min
(orange und rot)

In den rechten Diagrammen ist zusÀtzlich das VerhÀltnis der Zeiten zu sehen, in denen die Messwerte gestiegen, gefallen oder gleichgeblieben sind. Mit zunehmendem Stress steigt die Kurve hÀufiger und lÀnger an, als dass sie gleichbleibt oder abfÀllt. Auch dies ist ein idealer Parameter zur Auswertung und zum Vergleich von Biofeedback Sitzungen.

Der gesamte Vorgang des Erfassens und Berechnens der SCR ist ein Kreislauf aus vier Schritten:

  1. Überwachungs-Zustand
  2. Ermitteln ob ein Signalanstieg tatsÀchlich ein SCR ist
  3. Erfassen und Berechnen der SCR und asynchrones Abhören der SCR-Erholungsphase
  4. Erholungsphase und Ende der Fluktuation
Überwachungs-ZustandErmitteln ob ein Signalanstieg tatsĂ€chlich ein SCR ist
Erholungsphase und Ende der FluktuationErfassen und Berechnen der SCR und asynchrones Abhören der SCR-Erholungsphase

Die 4 Schritte im Detail


1. Überwachungs-Zustand

Der Zyklus beginnt im ersten Schritt, dem Überwachungs-Zustand („listening state“ in Englisch). Dies ist der Standardzustand.

2. Signalerhöhung ermitteln

Es gibt zwei Möglichkeiten den Start eines SCR zu erkennen. Die Werte können entweder mit einem kleinen Schritt langsam oder mit einer großen Amplitude sehr schnell ansteigen. Dies schafft die folgenden Bedingungen:

  1. Das Signal steigt stĂ€ndig fĂŒr 2 Sekunden an
  2. Die Differenz zwischen dem aktuellen Signal und dem vorgeblichen Basiswert (dem Wert, der als erster Wert im ansteigenden Wert angenommen wird. Auf dieser Stufe wird er jedoch noch nicht als Basiswert bestĂ€tigt) und ob dieser grĂ¶ĂŸer als 0,5 Mikrosiemens ist.
    In einfachen Worten, die App reagiert auf eine plötzliche Werterhöhung und bestÀtigt diese, wenn die Schwankung beginnt und wartet nicht 2 Sekunden (wie bei der ersten Bedingung oben).

Wenn das Signal wĂ€hrend einer Erhöhung nur um 0,1 Mikrosiemens fĂ€llt, steigt die App aus diesem zweiten Schritt heraus und kehrt zum ersten Schritt (dem Überwachungs-Zustand) zurĂŒck. Andernfalls wird mit den nĂ€chsten beiden Schritten 3 und 4 fortgefahren.

3. Erfassung und Berechnung der SCR (Fluktuation)

Wenn eine der beiden Bedingungen aus dem zweiten Schritt oben erfĂŒllt ist, leitet die App in diesem dritten Schritt die Fluktuation ein. Das erste Signal der Fluktuationsperiode ist der Basiswert eines Fluktuationssignals. WĂ€hrend der gesamten Fluktuationsperiode detektiert die App die sich stĂ€ndig Ă€ndernde Amplitude. Anschließend berechnet die App die SCR-Ereignisse global und innerhalb eines ein-minĂŒtigen Zeitfensters. So kommt auch der Wert SCR/min zustande.

4. Einleitung der Erholungsphase

Es wird angenommen, dass die Fluktuation in die Erholungsphase (dem Ende der Fluktuation) eintritt, wenn das Signal um mehr als 50% von der grĂ¶ĂŸten Amplitude der Fluktuationsperiode abfĂ€llt.

Dies ist auch der Schritt, bei dem die Farbe im Diagramm geĂ€ndert wird (basierend auf der Anzahl der aufgetretenen SCR-Ereignisse). Die Farben fĂŒr den SCR-Hintergrund werden ebenfalls berechnet (durch Unterteilen der Zeitintervalle in gleiche Segmente und Abrufen der Summe der SCR-Ereignisse von jedem Segment).



Fragen

Stellen Sie eine Frage

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Captcha Plus loading...